TMC MPs unanimously choose Mamata Banerjee as its parliamentary party's chairperson

NEW DELHI: TMC MPs have unanimously chosen party supremo Mamata Banerjee, who is also the chief minister of West Bengal, as the chairperson of its parliamentary party.

Announcing this at a press conference in Delhi, Rajya Sabha member Derek O’Brien said she has been the guiding force behind the TMC parliamentary party for a long time.

“We are just formalising a reality. Our chairperson is a seven-time Member of Parliament. She has the vision to guide the parliamentary party. She has the experience and insight. She was anyway guiding us,” he said.

ALSO READ | Mamata Banerjee to scan, approve replies to parliamentary questions, says official

The decision has been taken both at a conceptual and tactical level, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) leader said.

“She has been a call away always. We feel more empowered,” O’Brien said.

He also said that all TMC MPs unanimously chose Banerjee as their leader.

Banerjee is not a member of parliament.