A spectacular moment of fielding brilliance in the Asia Cup Rising Stars 2025 between India A and Pakistan Shaheens was ultimately disallowed due to a crucial interpretation of cricket’s boundary rules. Nehal Wadhera executed a breathtaking leap near the deep mid-wicket boundary, flicking a ball that seemed destined for six back into play. Naman Dhir, positioned inside the ropes, completed a seemingly clean catch.
However, the celebration was short-lived as the third umpire intervened. After reviewing the replays, the decision was overturned, declaring the batter not out. This ruling stemmed from a recent update to cricket’s Law 19.5.2, specifically addressing boundary catches involving airborne fielders.
The updated rule, implemented by the MCC in June 2025, states that if a fielder contacts the ball while airborne beyond the boundary, they must re-establish contact with the playing field before the ball becomes dead. If the fielder lands outside the boundary after touching the ball, even if another fielder completes the catch inside, the ball is automatically considered a boundary. In this instance, Wadhera, after making contact with the ball in the air outside the boundary, landed outside. Despite Dhir’s clean catch inside the ropes, Wadhera’s failure to re-enter the field rendered the relay catch invalid, leading to the ‘not out’ decision. This ensures fair play and prevents potential boundary runs from being nullified by such athletic but technically non-compliant fielding.









