With leads in the election results showing the BJP crossing the halfway mark on its own steam and a sweep by the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in the Lok Sabha election, leaders of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s party tweeted to congratulate party workers and supporters.

“Many congratulations to Prime Minister Narendra Modi for delivering such a massive victory for the Bharatiya Janata Party,” Foreign Minister Sushma Swaraj tweeted. “I express my gratitude to the people of the country,” tweeted the Foreign Minister who was in Bishkek, the capital of Kyrgyzstan, for the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) Foreign Ministers’ meeting.

The BJP is doing well in most states, including the three heartland states of Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh, wrested by the Congress in December. It is also ahead in Karnataka – a state the Congress rules jointly with HD Kumaraswamy.

Elections were held on 542 of the 543 Lok Sabha seats and a party or alliance needs 272 seats to form government; the Lok Sabha election results 2019 are being announced today.

“I am on my way to the counting centre at Jaipur to meet our counting representatives. My salute to the untiring workers of BJP and Jaipur Rural, this is their service to the nation,” Union Minister Rajyavardhan Rathore tweeted.

Union Minister Uma Bharti tweeted in Hindi, “Congratulations Prime Minister Narendra Modi for this landslide win. Jai ho Baba Kedarnath.” PM Modi had gone to the hill temple in Uttarakhand after voting in the last of the seven-phase national election ended on Sunday last.