In order to investigate the complaints of illegal sand storage in the district, as per the instructions of Collector Shri Jayaprakash Maurya, a team has been formed and after scrutiny at different places, the authorities are constantly investigating various sites in the city and surrounding villages.
Subdivisional officer Dhamtari Mr. Manish Mishra informed that three teams of revenue department officials have been formed to verify the complaints received regarding illegal sand storage. He said that today the team was hit at five places. During this time the spot was investigated at Mahavir Rice Mill on Sihawa Road, where illegal storage of sand was not found. Similarly, the team did not find sand storage during the Dabish at Raj Rajeshwar Rice Mill at Village Muzgahan, though small amounts of sand were found, making it seem likely that sand was stored earlier. Similarly, 3752 cubic meters of sand was found stored in Magendra fly ash bricks at village Soram. When asked in this regard, only a small amount of sand was shown to the Pit Pass by the operator, which was found not to match the amount of sand stored. The seizure was taken by the team terming it as illegal sand storage. SDM Dhamtari said that in the same way in the village Sarangpuri, the team was found to be storing sand on government land other than the site set by the licensed local Ramsagarpara resident Mr. Sheikh Zafar. At the same time wire fencing or brick wall enclosure and security and first aid facilities were not found in the storage site. In the same way, the team found lack of basic facilities like security, treatment, besides non-compliance of the conditions of license by the unlicensed license holder in village Amethi. On being questioned, the sarpanch of the village and Kotwar were not informed of the information about the storage.
The three teams, which conducted the inspection of illegal sand storage sites, were led by Dhamtari Tehsildar Shri Pawan Singh Thakur, Naib Tehsildar Shri Vinod Kumar Sahu and Chandra Kumar Sahu, including Revenue Inspector and Patwari respectively.