The top European Union (EU) officials on December 30 have formally signed the post-Brexit trade agreement with the UK. The European Commission president Ursula von der Leyen and European Council president Charles Michel put pen to paper on Wednesday morning (local time) in a brief signature ceremony held in Brussels. 

These documents are now set to be flown to London reportedly in an RAF plane for the British Prime Minister Boris Johnson to sign before being provisionally applied as of January 1, 2021. Even though the presidents of the European Commission and European Council have signed the agreement, it will now be examined by the EU Parliament and the Council before being ratified by the EU.