Chhattisgarh Forest Department by winning a total of 161 medals including 74 gold, 54 silver and 33 bronze medal was declared overall Champions in the 24th All India Forest Sports Meeting while Karnataka was placed in second position.

Chhattisgarh has won the championship for the eighth time out of the 18 years of its formation.

The event was participated by 25 states, four union territories and 8th

All India level Forest and Bio-Technology institutes having 2404 players.

Panchayat and Rural Development Minister T S Singhdeo gave away the prizes as chief guest.

He said, “Wining and losing are part of sports and participation in the event is the highest achievement.

 The forest officials and employees have arrived to showcase their different talent apart from protecting the forest and wild animals in the country.”

Forest Minister Mohammed Akbar while presiding over the function, said, “The hard work and dedication is required to protect the forest and wild animals in the country like the sports.”

Special guest international cricketer Cheteshwar Pujara said, “Dedication, hard work and discipline has importance in life and it helps to face any situation in life.”

Satyaprakash Masih, Sudhir Tripathi and Sanjeev Sood got best player award.

Maniram Adile of Chhattisgarh and Sudesh Kumar Singh of UP were jointly given best  player prize in the Men’s category while Sangeeta Rajgopalan of Chhattisgarh was given best player prize in Women’s category.