Chhattisgarh for first time after its formation will receive the ‘National Award-2018’ for the best election related works undertaken during State Assembly Election 2018.

Election Commission of India (ECI) will hold a ceremony on January 25 to mark the ‘National Voters Day’ at Manekshaw Centre based auditorium, New Delhi in which President Ram Nath Kovind will confer the award to Chhattisgarh Chief Electoral Officer Subrat Sahoo. 

Chhattisgarh has received the award for best implementation of election works in ‘State Category’.

ECI has also selected Bijapur district Superintendent of Police Mohit Garg in the general category ‘National Award-2018’.

For first time, Chhattisgarh witnessed no untoward poll-related incident in a two-phased assembly polls held in November last and even no repolling was held in the state. The elections were held using EVM and VVPAT.