Fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar and left-arm wrist-spinner Kuldeep Yadav have been named in India’s squad for the limited-overs series against West Indies at home.

They will be joined by regular skipper Virat Kohli, who was rested for the Twenty20 International leg of the Bangladesh series, and fast bowler Mohammed Shami, who will also make a comeback into the T20I squad.

Shardul Thakur and Khaleel Ahmed, who played the Bangladesh T20Is, were left out, along with Krunal Pandya, who has been replaced by Ravindra Jadeja. The other notable omissions are Rahul Chahar and Sanju Samson, who were both a part of the squad for the Bangladesh series, but did not get a game. 

Meanwhile, Shivam Dube, who impressed in that series, has earned his maiden one-day international call-up, as has Deepak Chahar, who made his ODI debut in the 2018 Asia Cup. Both Khaleel and Navdeep Saini have been left out from India’s last ODI assignment, which was also against West Indies. 

For Bhuvneshwar, it will be test of fitness, as the seamer has been unavailable for India’s 2019 home season so far. The 29-year-old has been troubled by injuries since last year. Most recently, he injured his hamstring during the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019. He had been undergoing rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru. He turned out for Uttar Pradesh in the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, India’s domestic T20 competition, last week.

West Indies lost their previous T20I assignment 1-2 against Afghanistan earlier this month, while India defeated Bangladesh 2-1 in their latest T20I series. The two teams will play three T20Is, starting with the first game on 6 December, followed by as many ODIs.