On 25 May 2013, Naxalites killed 35 leaders and activists in a fast-track attack on Congress’ Parivartan Yatra in Jhiram Valley of Bastar. The Naxalites targeted the then state president of Congress Nandkumar Patel, former union minister Vidyacharan Shukla, former minister Mahendra Karma, former MLA Uday Mudaliar in the attack. Recalling the martyrs, MP Deepak Badge rushed to the scene with Congress workers. Wreathed the martyrs at the martyr memorial built here and bowed to the martyrs. Local Congress leaders, including Deepak Badge, paid tribute to the martyrs by holding a 2-minute silence. Senior Congress leader Malkit Singh Gaidu, Chitrakoot MLA Rajman Benzam, Rural District President Balram Maurya, State General Secretary Sushil Maurya, MP Representative Darbha Mahadev Nag, Block President Sahadev Nag etc. were present during this period.