As many as 772 employees of Bhilai Steel Plant were felicitated with the Nehru Awards at a glittering function held at Nehru House of Culture, Bhilai on February 4, 2019. Forty nine executives received the individual Jawahar Award while 97 non-executive employees received the individual Nehru Award. A total of 626 employees in 79 groups received the Jawaharlal Nehru Awards. The Nehru awards are the highest recognition that the SAIL management confers upon its employees as reward for their exemplary contribution, sincerity and dedication.

The awards were given away by A K Rath, Chief Executive Officer, Bhilai Steel Plant; P K Dash, ED (Works); A K Kabisatapathy, ED (Projects); SK Basar, ED (MM); Manas Biswas, ED (Mines & Rowghat); K K Singh, ED (P&A); Dr A K Garg, Actg Dir. I/c (M&HS) and Suresh Rangani, Actg ED (F&A).

Congratulating the awardees, Rath urged the recipients of Nehru Awards to feel the joy of receiving the award. He said that this year Bhilai collective have registered many achievements. Significant is the reaching of the historic milestone of 200 million tonnes of cumulative Hot Metal production. Today, we have completed 60 years of production, as on his very day Dr Rajendra Prasad, our country’s first President inaugurated the first Blast Furnace. Only a few days back we celebrated one year of Blast Furnace-8 ‘Mahamaya’ which is the fastest to have achieved 1 million tonne Hot Metal production among furnaces of similar capacity in SAIL.

Citing the recent announcement of the Padma Vibhushan Award to Dr Teejan Bai, one of Bhilai’s very own, he said that where can one find an organisation from whose collective a member has is bestowed the Padma Vibhushan Award. We must be proud of our heritage of excellence, of employees winning awards like Shram Awards, Viswakarma Awards and many more. He urged the gathering to ponder how and why these were accomplished. We are proud of our people who have made such contributions. It is time that we play a role that succeeding generations should also be proud of. Bhilai requires our contributions. This is the time to pay-back to the Plant which has given us  so much.

At the outset S K Acharya, DGM (Pers-Rules & HRIS) welcomed the awardees and guests. Master of Ceremonies J N Thakur, (Pers) conducted the proceedings. Rohit Harit, Dy Manager (Pers) and Sushri Nisha Boul, AM (Pers) read out the citations.