Minutes after polling started for West Bengal state polls, Prime Minister Narendra Modi made an attraction to eligible voters to step out and train their democratic proper. Polling started at 7 AM for the 44 seats within the state as a part of part Four of the eight-phased meeting elections. 

More than 370 candidates, together with film stars, MPs and even a cricketer, are on the ticket in 44 constituencies unfold over Cooch Behar and Alipurduar districts in north Bengal and components of South 24 Parganas, Howrah and Hoogly within the state’s south.

Singer-turned-minister Babul Supriyo will tackle sitting MLA Arup Biswas at Tollygunge, recognized to be the guts of the Bengali movie business within the southern a part of Kolkata.

Bengal minister Partha Chatterjee, who can also be the Trinamool’s secretary-general, will tackle movie actor Srabanti Chatterjee of the BJP in Behala West seat to return to the meeting for the fourth successive time period.

Another actor Payel Sarkar is operating from Behala East for the BJP whereas cricketer Manoj Tiwari is batting for the Trinamool from Howrah North.

Also within the race is Trinamool defector Rajib Banerjee, a former minister of the Mamata Banerjee cupboard, who will contest from Domjur in Howrah district on a BJP ticket. He together with fellow turncoat Suvendu Adhikari has been the main focus of stinging assaults by Mamata Banerjee who known as them “gaddars” (traitors) and Mir Jafar and attacked them in virtually each election assembly.

A complete of 1.15 crore folks, together with 290 members of the third gender, are eligible to vote on this part.

The Election Commission has posted round 80,000 personnel from the central armed police drive (CAPF) to protect practically 16,000 polling stations.