Australian batsmen succumbed to the bowling of R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Siraj and after winning the toss, the Australian team could score only 195 runs in the first innings on the first day of the Boxing Day Test match. Apart from Marnus Labuschen, no other batsman faced an Indian attack. Labushen scored the most 48 runs. Apart from him, Travis Head scored an innings of 38 runs.

Team India started brilliantly and stopped Australia for 195 runs in 72.3 overs. Jaspreet Bumrah took four wickets for 56 runs with an economy of 3.50. While Ashwin took 3 wickets for 35 runs with an economy of 1.46. Debut match Mohammed Siraj took 2 wickets for 40 runs with an economy of 2.67.

Indian bowlers dominated the match from the very beginning. India had given Australia three big shocks on 65 runs in the opening session. In the absence of Virat Kohli, with the efficient captaincy of Ajinkya Rahane, who captained the team, India dominated the pitch taking turn and bounce in the first session. Jasprit Bumrah dismissed Joe Burns in the fifth over, whose poor form continued and he could not even open the account. After Bumrah’s ball, he caught Rishabh Pant behind the wicket. After this, in the 11th over, Ashwin sent Matthew Wade to the pavilion. Wade scored 30 runs off 39 balls. One over after this, Ashwin took a big wicket in the form of Steve Smith. Smith could not even open the account and he caught a catch in leg lane to new vice-captain Cheteshwar Pujara.