Ahead of the New Year, people are getting into party-mood but new strain from UK has induced fear in the minds of people. Amid scare of the new Covid-19 strain, many states have announced restrictions including big gatherings and night curfew for New Year’s eve. Till now 25 people are found to be infected with the new virus in India.

The central government has advised restrictions to keep large gatherings to a minimum, So, here’s the list of states that have decided to impose restrictions on New Year’s eve.

As per an order signed by Chief Secretary of Delhi Vijay Dev, no new year celebratory events, congregations, and gatherings at public places will be permitted from 11 pm of December 31 to 6 am of January 1, and also from 11 pm of January 1 to 6 am of January of 2.

A detailed assessment of the situation in Delhi has been made and considering the threat posed by the mutant UK strain of COVID-19 virus and after observing the local incidents of Covid-19 pandemic in Delhi, it is apprehended that gatherings, congregations, and public celebrations of New Year pose a considerable threat of the spread of the virus and may cause a setback to the appreciable gains made in the suppression of chain of transmission of COVID-19 cases in Delhi,” the order said.

There will, however, be no restriction on the interstate and intrastate movement of persons and goods during the curfew period.According to S Chaitanya, spokesperson of the Mumbai Police, the night curfew will remain in place from 11 pm on December 31 till 6 am on January 1, along with Section 144. “Night curfew to remain in place from 11 pm today to 6 am tomorrow. Section 144 to remain imposed prohibiting the gathering of 5 or more persons. No parties will be allowed in restaurants, pubs, bars, beaches, rooftops, or boats,”