BJP's Priyanka Tibriwal to contest from Bhowanipore against CM Mamata Banerjee in bypoll

By Online Desk

BJP has fielded party leader Priyanka Tibrewal to contest against Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee in the upcoming  Bhowanipore bypoll on September 30.

Meanwhile, the Congress  has decided not to field a candidate against Mamata Banerjee.

A lawyer by profession, Tibrewal is one of the petitioners in the post-poll violence cases against the TMC government in the Calcutta High Court.

The TMC chief, who lost to BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari in Nandigram Assembly constituency, will contest the bypoll from the seat vacated by party leader Sovandeb Chattopadhyay. 

CM Mamata has to get elected as an MLA by November 5 to continue as the chief minister on West Bengal. 

Mamata was elected twice in 2011 and 2016 from Bhowanipore and has been campaigning heavily this year for the crucial bypoll.

The results of the Bhowanipore bypoll will be announced on October 3.

(Inputs from Agencies)